Yawn

14 Feb

One of my biggest challenges is relaxing. I have heard numerous times from dear friends that I don’t know how to relax. You don’t know how to be in the moment. You don’t know how to enjoy the moment and blah, blah, blah.

So now that I have some unexpected extra time on my hands, I’m giving this whole “relax” thing a try. What have I done so far?

I drank a glass of wine.

pinot noir

Before, I used to drink a glass of wine either with a meal or when I had a rough, I mean a really rough day. There were times I wanted to skip the glass and swing the bottle to the head but I didn’t. I promise I didn’t. Today, I poured a lovely glass of Pinot Noir and inhaled the aroma deeply. Then, I put dimmed the lights and put on some Miles. I nervously walked to my couch and sat upon it and sipped wine…and listened to jazz. I did not turn on my laptop. I placed turned off my phone.

I lasted four minutes.

Then my mind started whirling wondering what texts or emails did I miss? What is going on in the world? Is Friends playing on TV? What’s on my DVR? I know, I know. I’m pathetic. But guess what? So are you! Well…some of you.  Life goes on without me and half of those people I’m reading about on social media aren’t thinking about me anyway, so I am going to implement the following:

black yogaDo more yoga: Yoga is a great stress reliever, helps reduce anxiety, it’s a great workout and helps to center your mind and body and help you focus. Umm, when is your next class? I need help in all of those areas. I am quite comfortable in the regular class so I can learn the moves plus, the soothing music and the mini nap at the end of the class brings me childlike joy.

Read a bookreading a book I remember a time when I used to read. It used to take me to wonderful places and stimulate my mind to use all those tools of reading comprehension and critical thinking. Where did those days go? They went to my smartphone and laptop. So I’m going to ditch the phone and laptop for a while and walk to my dusty, abandoned bookcase. I’m going to select a great novel, sit in my sunroom, and get lost in beautiful words.

Take a nap: Years ago when I heard the employees at Google were allowed to take naps, I almost brought a cot to work the next day to demand nap time. Quick, power naps really do give you power. Clarity of mind, increase in productivity, and boost of creativity are a few of the great things your body will thank you for.  Two warnings: Three-hour naps are counterproductive (believe me, I tried) and if you suffer from insomnia, naps may not be beneficial to you either (my mom tried).

sleeping

Well, all this typing about relaxing is making me sleepy. I feel a nap coming on. Yawn.

Share with me some ways you relax after you wake up from your nap <wink>

4 Responses to “Yawn”

  1. Susan Davis February 14, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    I have heard this a lot! My mind is ALWAYS racing… trying to figure stuff out constantly. Plotting, planning, considering, contemplating, wondering, talking to myself….. non stop. I tried to do yoga once… it was P90x yoga… nothing relaxing about it. I did try doing the pose in your picture of yoga and it lasted for oh….. about 30 seconds. I love the quiet, but really only so my own thoughts don`t get distracted!!! I really must find a way to ….. “free my mind” as Neo says! Thanks for letting me know I am not alone!

    • marciascribbles February 14, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

      You are definitely not alone! I admit, yoga is difficult and and my agility is at best, non-existent sooo….
      I’m still trying. I had A LOT of energy afterwards and I couldn’t stop smiling. It was weird. I didn’t recognize myself but I liked it!
      So no, you are not alone (insert Michael Jackson song minus the video). Keep me posted on your journey and thanks for your comment!

  2. Adonica February 14, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    Nature. When the weather isn’t so delightful it makes it difficult to choose the outdoors. But, I love to walk around in our little pockets of town, especially Decatur, even if it’s to window shop. I put the phone away and let nature provide the soundtrack. With one exception… I find that if you make a point to take pictures of things it helps you be present in the moment.

    And the park! Piedmont is one of my favorite places to go. Take a blanket, journal and sit on the top of the hill and just breath. And you’re so right! I can’t believe we fight naps as kids. But as an adult naps and meditation (read Quiet Time) are two things I definitely need more of. Wait! It’s almost nap time now….

Leave a comment